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           Spring 2009 

 

NEWS AND NOTES 
 
Did You Know That: 
 

 There are 164,151 Active Members of 
the State Bar of California who must 
take 25 hours of approved MCLE every 
three years? 

 

 There are approximately 4,200 certified 
legal specialists who must take 45 hours 
of approved legal specialization 
education for initial certification and 60 
hours of legal specialization education 
every 5 years for recertification? 

 
Qualifying MCLE Education Programs 
 
An MCLE education program must be directly 
relevant to active members of the State Bar.  
The content of the program must enhance the 
member's professional ability to practice law and 
be directly relevant to the member's current 
knowledge of the law, including the obligations 
and professional standards as a member of the 
State Bar of California. 
 
Qualifying Legal Specialization Education 
Programs 
 
A Legal Specialization education program must 
enhance the member's professional ability to 
practice law in the specialty area of law in which 
the Legal Specialist is certified and be directly 
relevant to the member's current knowledge of 
the law in that specialty area.  MCLE subfield 
education programs, such as programs in 
elimination of bias, are not approved for legal 
specialization credit.  However, Legal Specialists 
must take MCLE subfield education programs to 
meet the general MCLE requirements applicable 
to all active members of the State Bar. 

 
 
 
 

 
Legal Specialization Has Added Two New 
Areas to the 2009 Specialization Exams  
 
For those interested in becoming a Certified 
Legal Specialist, the Legal Specialist Exams 
will be given on Sunday, August 9, 2009 in 
San Francisco and Los Angeles. 
 
Certification is currently offered in the following 
areas of law:  Appellate; Bankruptcy; Criminal; 
Estate Planning, Trust & Probate; Family; 
Franchise & Distribution; Immigration & 
Nationality; Taxation; Workers’ Compensation. 
 
Admiralty & Maritime Law and Legal Malpractice 
Law are two new areas of specialty certification. 
For information on the types of education 
required under the program, on-line registration 
for the exam, and lists of certified specialists, 
visit www.californiaspecialist.org. 

 
Elimination of Bias in the Legal Profession 
Subfield Program 
 

Education activities focused on the recognition, 
identification, and prevention of bias in a legal 
setting, such as among attorneys, a law firm, or 
courtroom, may qualify for bias credit. The 
activity must address diversity or bias issues in 
the legal profession. A few examples of subjects 
previously approved for MCLE bias credit are 
the following:  
 

 How to Address Negative Attitudes or 
Comments of a Judge Toward Minority 
Attorneys 

 Sexism in the Field of Criminal Law  

 Elimination of Bias Against Women – 
Learning from History 

 Diversity in the Legal Workplace 

 Creating a Practice Free of Gender 
Identity Bias 

 Cultural Sensitivity in Global Practice 

 Accommodations in the Courtroom for 
Persons with Disabilities 
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 Activities addressing bias encountered in 
society in general and not specifically in the 
legal profession do NOT count for MCLE credit. 

 
December 31 is the Renewal Deadline for 
Multiple Activity Providers 

 

For those Multiple Activity Providers whose 3-
year approval period expires in 2009, the 
renewal deadline is December 31, 2009, rather 
than August 31 as in past renewal cycles.  The 
renewal application will be made available online 
in November 2009. 
 

If you were required to renew your Multiple 
Activity Provider status last year (i.e. by 
December 31, 2008) but have not yet done so, 
please visit our website to print the Multiple 
Activity Provider Renewal Application form at: 
http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/certification/MCL
E-Provider-Renew.pdf.  

If you have any questions, contact us at: 
providers@calbar.ca.gov. 

 

Avoid Problems with Your Multiple Activity 
Provider Renewal 
 
Distinguish Between Activities with the Same 
Name 

As part of your renewal application, you must 
submit documentation relating to 4 separate and 
different educational activities that you have 
performed within the previous 2 years.  If any of 
your 4 activities have the same name, please 
include attachments to show how these activities 
are different, such as a timed agenda, and a 
record of attendance for each activity with the 
same name.  A timed agenda should include a 
breakdown of topics discussed, the amount of 
time spent on each topic (plus breaks and/or 
lunches), and start and end times. 

 
Provide a Copy of the Record of Attendance - 
Not Copies of the Certificates Given to 
Attendees 
 
Providers are required to keep a record of the 
attorneys that attend their MCLE presentations 
(see Provider Rule 3.501).  You must include a 
copy, not the original, of the attendance record 
as one of the attachments with your provider 
renewal application.  Certificates of attendance 
should be issued to attendees at the end of the 

educational activity and should state that the 
activity is acceptable for California CLE credit. 
 

Properly Calculate the Length of Your Programs 
 
Scheduled breaks, rest periods, or lunch hours 
do not qualify for credit.  If you have a program 
that starts at 1:00 p.m., ends at 4:00 p.m., and 
has a 15-minute break, this is not a 3-hour class 
but a 2.75-hour class.  

 
Calculating MCLE Credit for Speakers 
 
General Rule 
 
A speaker receives a one-time preparation credit 
equal to 4 times his or her scheduled speaking 
time for the class.   
 
Example 1 
 
A single speaker teaches the same one-hour 
class 3 times. 
 
The speaker receives 4 hours of credit for 
preparing for and teaching the class the first 
time. The speaker receives 2 hours of credit for 
teaching the same one-hour class two additional 
times. The total is 6 hours of credit. 
 
Multiple Speakers 
 
If there are multiple speakers for a class, each 
speaker receives a one-time preparation credit 
equal to 4 times his or her scheduled speaking 
time.  If the speakers do not have scheduled 
speaking times, each speaker receives a one-
time preparation credit equal to the length of the 
class divided by the number of speakers.  
Speakers receive the same credit as attendees 
for the portion of the class time for which they 
did not receive preparation credit. 
 
Example 2 
 
Three speakers teach a 3-hour class one time.  
There are no scheduled speaking times. 
 
Each speaker receives 4 hours of preparation 
credit (3) hours of class time divided by 3 
speakers yields 1 hour then multiplied by 4 
equals 4 hours preparation time, plus 2 hours of 
credit for the portion of the class that they are 
not speaking, for a total of 6 hours of credit.  (If 
the speakers teach the same class a second 
time, each speaker would receive an additional 

http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/certification/MCLE-Provider-Renew.pdf
http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/certification/MCLE-Provider-Renew.pdf
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3 hours of credit for teaching the same class a 
second time.) 
 
Example 3 
 
Three speakers teach a 2-hour class one time.  
Speaker A is scheduled to speak for 1 hour and 
Speakers B and C are each scheduled to speak 
for 1/2 an hour. 
 
Speaker A would receive 4 hours of preparation 
credit plus 1 hour of credit for the portion of the 
class that he or she is not speaking for a total of 
5 hours of credit.  Speakers B and C would each 
receive 2 hours of preparation credit plus 1.5 
hours of credit for the portion of the class that he 
or she is not speaking for a total of 3.5 hours of 
credit each.  (If the speakers teach the same 
class a second time, each speaker would 
receive 2 hours of credit for teaching the same 
class a second time.) 
 
Moderators 
 
A moderator who introduces other speakers 
and/or performs administrative duties but does 
not present substantive material does not 
receive preparation credit but does receive the 
same credit hours as attendees. 

 
Notify Us in Writing When Your MCLE Contact 
Information Changes 

 

If you have:  

 a new address, 

 a new MCLE contact person,  

 a name change, etc.,  

 a telephone number change  

 an email address change 

notify this office in writing.  A facsimile sent to 
415-538-2180 or an email notice is acceptable, 
but verbal notice is not acceptable.  Notify us by 
email at providers@calbar.ca.gov. 
 
Know the Rules 
 

 You must retain the record of 
attendance, agenda, and any written 
materials for 4 years from the date of 
the presentation. 

 

 Your certificates of attendance to each 
attendee must identify any subfield, 
such as Ethics, and the hours of credit 
for that subfield. 

 

 To maintain your multiple activity 
provider status, you are required to hold 
a minimum of four separate and 
different activities during the two years 
prior to renewing your approved multiple 
activity provider status. 

 
Education Activities That Do Not Qualify for 
MCLE Credit: 

 A legal subject taught to non-attorneys  

 Programs or portions of an activity designed 

to teach attorneys how to improve marketing 

to new clients or increase profits  

 Writing for or on behalf of a client in the 

regular practice of law  

 Jury duty  

 Train the trainer programs or programs 

designed to enhance a person's ability to 

present CLE education  

 Reviewing and evaluating legal work of 

associates and others less experienced on a 

one-on-one basis (for example, a mentor 

program)  

 Grading the California bar exam  

 Acting as a judge pro tem, mediator, 

arbitrator or settlement judge  

 Acting as a Supervising Attorney in the State 

Bar Law Office Study Program  

 Classes in which there is a focus directly on 

a pending case by in-house providers by the 

participants in the pending case  

 Activities used to market or sell the 

presenter's technology, products, services or 

skills  

 Time spent in conducting a roll call or 

connecting to the teleconference  

 Chat room discussions  

 General business courses in writing , 

management, etc.  

 Informal discussion groups  

 Education activities on the moral issues 

facing society in general  

 Preparation for an examination for admission 

to practice law in any state, the District of 

Columbia, or territory of the U.S., or any 

foreign jurisdiction, or for time spent actually 

taking such examinations  

mailto:providers@calbar.ca.gov
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 Time spent in reading or studying of 

published or printed material before taking a 

self-assessment test  

 Participating in a moot court activity  

 Government Code Section 12950.1 (a) (the 

law requiring training on the prohibition and 

prevention of sexual harassment) courses do 

not qualify for elimination of bias credit  

 Education programs on mentoring new 

attorneys 

Courses in Management of a Law Practice 

Qualify for MCLE Credit  

These courses qualify for credit if they have 

significant practical content directly relevant to 

members. Courses that may qualify include 

docket control, malpractice avoidance, 

improvement of attorney communication skills 

with current clients, or improvement in the 

attorney-client relationship. The course must be 

related to the practice of law. General business 

courses on writing or managing an office would 

NOT qualify. A few examples of subjects 

previously approved for MCLE credit are the 

following:  

 A Master Class for the New Practice 
Group Leader 

 Concepts of Accounting for Attorneys 

 
Contact Us 
 
Let us hear from you.  If you have any other 
questions or concerns, visit The State Bar Web 
page at: www.calbar.ca.gov.  Or contact us at 
providers@calbar.ca.gov.   
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