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Member Services Center 1-888-800-3400 

   GENERAL INFORMATION 
Compliance Group 2 

(Last name beginning with H-M) 
Compliance Period from February 1, 2006 to January 31, 2009 

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 

• The regular MCLE requirement for this compliance period is 25 hours, including 4 hours of legal 
ethics, 1 hour of prevention, detection & treatment of substance abuse, and 1 hour of elimination of 
bias in the legal profession.  

• Even if you are EXEMPT for the “entire” compliance period you still must complete and return your 
Compliance Card. 

• You cannot file your Compliance Card until you have complied with your requirement. 

TO REPORT YOUR COMPLIANCE: 
 

� Mark your Bar Number, Name and Telephone Number on the Compliance Card below, 
� Check the appropriate box on the Card, 
� Sign and date the Card where indicated, 
� Remove the Card from this page by cutting on the dotted line, 
� Make a copy of the completed Card for your records, and then  
� Return your completed Compliance Card to: 

   ����----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

• Your initial reporting deadline was February 2, 2009.  If your completed Card was not submitted by February 2nd, you 
were assessed a late fee of $75.  
 

• If you missed the final reporting deadline of June 30, 2009, and were placed on Administrative Inactive status due to 
MCLE noncompliance, you have also been assessed an additional $200 reinstatement fee. To seek reinstatement 
from this Administrative Inactive status, please refer to the attached “Reinstatement Procedures” for complete 
instructions. 

PLEASE NOTE: 

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA MCLE COMPLIANCE CARD COMPLIANCE GROUP 2 
   

BAR NUMBER 
  
 
---------------------------- 

Insert Bar Number 

   

MEMBER NAME 
 
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Print Name 

                                                                                           PERIOD: 2/1/06 – 1/31/09 
  
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Insert Telephone Number 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that I am the member whose name and bar number are printed above and that: 

I have complied with the 25-hr MCLE requirement.  

I have complied with my proportional MCLE requirement because: I was officially on voluntary inactive status for a portion of the compliance period; 
OR I was exempt for only a portion of the compliance period; OR I was admitted or readmitted after February 1, 2006. 

I was exempt from the MCLE requirement for the entire compliance period (see §2.54 of the MCLE Rules & Regulations) because I am:  

(Exemption (a) eliminated effective 1/1/2000) 

An officer or elected official of the State of California; or 

A full-time professor at a law school accredited by The State Bar of California and/or the ABA; or 

A full-time employee of the State of California; or 

A full-time employee of the United States government. 
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SIGNATURE OF MEMBER WHOSE NAME IS PRINTED ABOVE  MM                   

MUST BE SIGNED AND 
DATED TO BE VALID 
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MCLE Reinstatements 
The State Bar of California 

180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA  94105-1639 
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 REINSTATEMENT PROCEDURES 

 
TO REINSTATE FROM “ ADMINISTRATIVE INACTIVE”  STATUS (resulting from a failure to comply with the MCLE 
requirement), YOU ARE REQUIRED TO: 
 

1. Submit a completed compliance card, (if outstanding), 
2. If completed compliance card was outstanding, also submit complete documentation of compliance, including records 

of attendance and/or proof of exempt status (see description below), and 
3. Pay all outstanding non-compliance fees, including: 

a. The $75 non-compliance fee (if outstanding), and 
b. The $200 reinstatement fee.  

 
You will not be reinstated until all of the above items are complete and are received by the State Bar. 

 

 
WHAT DOCUMENTATION OF COMPLIANCE MUST I SUBMIT? 
 
You must submit records of attendance and/or proof of exempt status in addition to your Compliance Card.  The State Bar will 
follow-up on these materials to verify their accuracy.  To be reinstated, your records must completely document compliance of the 
MCLE requirement. 
 
Records of Attendance: 

• Participatory Credit - Submit the certificates of attendance given to you at each activity.  If you cannot locate your 
certificates of attendance, contact the provider of the activity directly. 

• Self-Study Credit - Submit a log of your self-study activities including, as appropriate, the title, provider, time spent in the 
activity, subject matter of the activity, and the date on which you engaged in the activity. (To facilitate this, an “MCLE 
Personal Log” form is available for your use on the State Bar’s web site under “Attorney Forms”.) 

 
Proof of Exempt Status:  If you are claiming that you were exempt from the MCLE requirement for all or a portion of the 
compliance period based on the categories set forth in Rule 2.54 of the MCLE Rules, you must submit proof of your exempt 
status.  Submit a letter from your employer stating: 
 

1. The complete name and address of the entity employing you; 
2. Your job title/capacity; 
3. The length of time during the compliance period that you were employed by that entity; and 
4. The name, title and phone number of the person signing on behalf of the employer. 

 

 
WHERE & HOW DO I PAY MY MCLE NON-COMPLIANCE FEE(S)? 
 

• You should submit payment of the total MCLE Non-compliance fee(s) with the remittance portion of your membership fee 
statement. 

• If you do not have a copy of your membership fee statement, you may submit your check to the address listed below. 
• Be sure to include your State Bar Membership Number and indicate that you are submitting payment of your MCLE non-

compliance fees. 
• If you need another membership fee statement, please call Member Services at 1-888-800-3400. 

 
                                                                                                                                                       WHERE  
 WHERE & HOW DO I RETURN MY COMPLIANCE CARD AND RECORDS OF ATTENDANCE AND/OR PROOF OF EXEMPT STATUS? 

Return your completed Compliance Card, (if outstanding), and records of attendance and/or proof of exempt status to: 
 

 
MCLE REINSTATEMENTS 

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 
180 HOWARD STREET 

SAN FRANCISCO, CA  94105-1639 
 

 
If you need a new blank Compliance Card, please contact us at MCLE@calbar.ca.gov or phone 1-888-800-3400. 
 
 
 
For a complete copy of the Rules of the State Bar of California, please visit our Web site, www.calbar.ca.gov . 

 
 

                     


