
Name: Registration Number:________________

1) Status:

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLYThe State Bar of California
OFFICE OF CERTIFICATION
180 Howard Street · San Francisco, CA 94105-1639
(415) 538-2325 · mjp@calbar.ca.gov

Registered Legal Services Attorney Program Annual Renewal 
DATE DUE: February 1, 2007

Qualifying Legal Services Provider

E-mail: (        )                           Phone: (        )                           Fax:

Employer Contact:

3) Qualifying Legal Services Provider:

City: State: Zip:

Address:

E-mail: (        )                          Phone: (        )                          Fax:

Are you still employed by the “Qualifying Legal Services Provider” listed above?

If you answered ‘No,’ are you employed with another qualifying institution?  

Does the institution listed above still meet the definition of a “Qualifying
Institution” as defined by Rule of Court 964?

If you answered ‘No,’ explain below:

Yes No

4) Institutional Contact Information:

City: State: Zip:

Employment Address:

Have there been any changes in your status as a Registered Legal Services 
attorney?

If ‘Yes’, please note below:

Yes No

2) Contact Information

(Must be employed at qualifying institution of record)

Please Type or Print Clearly

Yes No

Yes No

STOP
If your employer has changed you must submit a new Registered Legal Services Attorney Application.  Please contact 
the State Bar of California for Details.  If you are not employed by an eligible qualifying legal services provider you may 
not renew you registration as a Registered Legal Services Attorney.

MJPLS2010806



Signature:

Print Name:Date:

a.   I am currently a member in good standing of and eligible to practice law in at least one jurisdiction in the United States.

I HAVE ATTACHED A CURRENT, ORIGINAL CERTIFICATE OF STANDING

b.    I am not suspended, disbarred or resigned with charges pending with any professional occupational disciplinary agency or
       licensing board.

c.    I am relocating to California from another jurisdiction.  As a Registered Legal Services Attorney, I will be a resident of California.

d.    I agree to be subject to the disciplinary authority of the Supreme Court of California and the State Bar of California with respect to
       the law of The State of California governing the conduct of attorneys, to the same extent as a member of the State Bar of 
       California.  

e.    As a Registered Legal Services Attorney, I will practice law for a SINGLE Qualifying Legal Services Provider in California which 
       employs me.  

f.     I understand that I may qualify to simultaneously practice law under the Registered In-House Counse Program.

g.    I understand that I will only practice law under the supervision of an Attorney who is employed by the Qualifying Legal Services 
       Provider and who is a member in good standing of the State Bar of California  and who meets the requirements of California Rules
        of Court, rule 964(g).

h.    I have not taken and failed the California Bar Examination within the 5 years immediately preceding this application.

i.     I understand that I may practice for no more than a total of 3 years under this rule.

j.     I agree that in my first year of practice under the Registered Legal Services Attorney Program, I will satisfy all of the Minimum 
       Continuing Legal Education requirements that members of the State Bar of California must complete every 3 years.  

k.   I will notify the State Bar of California in writing within 30 days of a change in any information provided in my application, including 
      my address, employment at a qualifying institution, or eligibility to practice law in another jurisdiction. Eligibility would be changed by 
      a suspension, resignation with or without charges pending, disbarment, or the like.

l.     I will provide the State Bar of California with a forwarding address to which any notices or papers may be mailed within 30 days of 
       cessation of employment by the Qualifying Legal Services Provider.

m.   I am aware that filing a certificate containing false information or otherwise failing to comply with the standards of professional 
       conduct required of members of the State Bar of California or the rules governing Registered Legal Services Attorneys will subject 
       me to the disciplinary jurisdiction of the State Bar of California. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing application and any attachments 
to it are true and correct.

The State Bar of California
OFFICE OF CERTIFICATION
180 Howard Street · San Francisco, CA 94105-1639
(415) 538-2325 · mjp@calbar.ca.gov

Registered Legal Services Attoreny Program Annual Renewal

Certificate of Standing: Must be a Current, Original Certificate

Mail to:
The State Bar of California
Office of Certification
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-1639MJP-LS2010806

Additional Explanations and/or Discipline Materials (IF NECESSARY)

6) Attachments:

5) Declaration:

7) Submission:

Yes No

Must be attached

Attachement A: MCLE Compliance Card Yes No



The State Bar of California
OFFICE OF CERTIFICATION
180 Howard Street · San Francisco, CA 94105-1639
(415) 538-2325 · mjp@calbar.ca.gov

Registered Legal Services Attorney Program Annual Renewal
Attachment A: MCLE Compliance Card 

All Registered Legal Services Attorneys must complete 25 hours of Minimum Continuing Legal Education
(MCLE) during their first year* after registration.  You registered between July 1, 2005 and 
December 31, 2005; you must complete 25 hours of MCLE by February 1, 2007. 

Of the 25 hours:
4 hours must be in Legal Ethics; 
1 hour must be in Substance Abuse; and 
1 hour must be in Elimination of Bias.

The remaining 19 hours are in areas selected by the Legal Services Attorney.

Of the 25 hours, at least 12.5 hours must be participatory (e.g. MCLE Provider verified electronic or live
courses) while the balance (a maximum of 12.5 hours) may be self-study.

All 25 hours of MCLE must be taken from MCLE Providers approved by the State Bar of California or you
can seek approval for your individual attendance. For more information regarding the MCLE requirements for 
Legal Services Attorneyes and other aspects of the Legal Services Attorney program, please: visit 
The State Bar’s Web Site at www.calbar.ca.gov (click on Attorney Resources, click on Multijurisdictional 
Practice (MJP) Program, then click on MCLE). You may also e-mail our office at mjp@calbar.ca.gov or call 
our office at (415) 538-2325.

*Note: Unlike California attorneys, California Rules of Court, rule 964, requires Registered Legal Services 
Attorneys to complete 25 hours of MCLE during the first year after registration.  

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA       INITIAL MCLE COMPLIANCE CARD - MJP 

REG. NUMBER                                REGISTERED LEGAL SERVICES ATTORNEY NAME   

____________________________          _________________________________________________________                          

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that I am the Registrant whose name and 
registration number are printed above and that I have complied with the 25-hr MCLE requirement as detailed above.

SIGNATURE OF REGISTRANT WHOSE NAME IS PRINTED ABOVE                   DATE
(MUST BE SIGNED AND DATED TO BE VALID)

Name: Registration Number:________________

MJP-LS20100806



MJP-LS20100806

Multijurisdictional Practice (MJP) Program
Annual Renewal Packet 

Instructions

To maintain your registration with the State Bar you must provide evidence of 
current good standing and complete 25 hours of MCLE. 

To renew, you must complete the following attached forms: 

Renewal Form:

Declaration of Registrant:  

Initial MCLE Compliance Card:  

Certificate of Standing:  (Must be original)

If your employment has changed, you must submit a new registration 
application including the new employer’s information. The application form is 
available at www.calbar.ca.gov.  Go to Attorney Resources; Multijurisdictional 
Practice (MJP) Program; Forms.  No fee is charged for new employment 
applications.     

Failure to timely renew may result in the revocation of your registration status.  

Note:  If you have not paid your 2005/2006 . annual fee, please do so 
immediately by logging on to “My State Bar Profile” at www.calbar.ca.gov.  If 
you do not have your access code to activate a profile. For assistance, call 
(415) 538-2325 or email  MJP@calbar.ca.gov. 

State Bar of California
Office of Certification
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-1639


