
THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 
COMMITTEE OF BAR EXAMINERS/OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS 

180 Howard Street • San Francisco, CA 94105-1639 • (415) 538-2300 
845 S. Figueroa Street • Los Angeles, CA 90017-2515 • (213) 765-1500 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR 
REGISTERED LEGAL SERVICES ATTORNEY APPLICATION 

Please carefully read these instructions.  Each applicant must be aware of all of the requirements that follow 
and comply with all those that are applicable.  The completed application must be typewritten or legibly printed 
in ink.  You must register as an Attorney Applicant with the State Bar’s Office of Admissions prior to 
submitting a Registered Legal Services Attorney Application. 

Required Fees: Moral Character Determination $   551.00 
Legal Services Attorney Application $   605.00 
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Total $1,156.00 

Payment of a total of $1,156.00 must accompany the completed application form.  Payment may be in the form of 
a cashier's check, travelers’ check, money order made payable to: The State Bar of California or credit card 
(complete the credit card authorization form).  Personal checks will not be accepted. 

Send completed application with the appropriate fees to: MJP Department 
Office of Admissions 
The State Bar of California 
845 S. Figueroa Street 
Los Angeles, CA 90017-2515 

After submission of a complete application and if you have satisfied the requirements, you will be notified of your 
registration as a Legal Services Attorney in California within two to four weeks.  You may be registered pending 
completion of the processing of your moral character determination application.  If you are found not to possess 
the required good moral character for admission to practice law in California or if you fail to complete the required 
MCLE requirements, your registration as a Legal Services Attorney in California will be revoked. 

REGISTRATION PROCESS 

Step 1: Application is submitted and reviewed for completeness and eligibility. 

Step 2: Registration is approved. 

Step 3: Processing of Moral Character Determination is completed. 

Step 4: Initial MCLE requirement must be met within 1 year of registration. 

Step 5: Registration renewal is required on an annual basis and requires payment of an annual fee. 

STEP 1 – Application Process 

1. Applicant Information:  Fill this section out completely.  You must notify the State Bar within 30 days of any
change to your address.

2. Qualifying Legal Services Provider:  Fill this section out completely, including a contact for verification of
your employment.  If you cease employment with your qualifying legal services provider you must notify the
State Bar’s Office of Admissions within 30 days.  If you begin working at another Qualifying Legal Services
Provider, you must file a new Application.  You must notify the State Bar’s Office of Admissions if you take
and pass the California Bar Exam.  Refer to Rules of The State Bar of California – Registered Legal
Services Attorney Program, Rule 3.362, for all reporting requirements.



3. Attachments:
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Attachment A – Attorney Declaration:  Date and sign the declaration.  The declaration must have an original
signature. 

Attachment B – Declaration of Qualifying Legal Services Provider:  Pursuant to California Rules of Court, 
Rule 9.45(d)(3), this declaration must be completed by the Supervising Attorney.  The signature must be 
original.  Refer to Rules of Court, Rule 9.45(a)(1) for the definition of a “Qualifying Legal Services Provider”. 
The Qualifying Legal Services Provider must notify the State Bar within 30 days of any change in its status 
as a legal services provider or the cessation of employment of the applicant as Legal Services Attorney. 

Attachment C – Declaration of Supervising Attorney:  Pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 9.45(d)(3), 
this declaration must be completed by the Supervising Attorney.  The signature must be original. The 
Qualifying Supervisor must submit a declaration attesting to the applicant’s status and agreeing to the terms 
of supervision specified in Rule 9.45(h). 

Attachment D – Admissions/Standing List:  You must include all the jurisdictions to which you have been 
admitted, including all state and federal jurisdictions.  If you have any prior record of discipline, a statement 
regarding the details of the discipline must be attached to the admissions/standing list. 

Application for Determination of Moral Character:  Your application must include an Application for 
Determination of Moral Character.  See the separate instructions with the Application for Determination of 
Moral Character.  If you have an Application for Determination of Moral Character already pending or 
completed with the Office of Admissions, you should submit current certificates of standing for all 
jurisdictions in which you are licensed to practice law with your application for registration as a Legal 
Services Attorney. 

Payment: Submit the Application Fee of $605.00 and the Determination of Moral Character Fee of $551.00 
with your application.  Applications submitted without payment will not be processed.  Submit a cashier’s 
check, traveler’s check, or money order for the total amount $1,156.00 made payable to: The State Bar of 
California.  Personal checks will not be accepted. 

Step 2 – Registration Approved 

Once a complete application is received and your eligibility is confirmed, you will be registered as a Legal 
Services Attorney.  If you are determined to be ineligible for the program, you will receive a letter of denial.  Refer 
to Rules of The State Bar of California – Registered Legal Services Attorney Program, Rule 3.361 for reasons that 
an application may be denied.  Upon receipt of registration, you are authorized to practice law under the 
conditions specified in Rule 9.45(e) and may practice for no more than a total of 3 years under this rule. 

Step 3 – Determination of Moral Character Complete 

It takes approximately 6 months to complete the processing of a Moral Character Determination application. You 
will be contacted if there are questions or problems with your Determination of Moral Character application. If you 
receive an adverse Determination of Moral Character, your registration will be revoked. 

Step 4 – Initial MCLE Requirement 

When you receive your notice of registration you will receive information about your MCLE requirement.  
Your initial MCLE requirement must be satisfied within one year of your registration date.  Details are posted on 
the State Bar’s website: http://www.calbar.ca.gov in the section of “Future Lawyers.” Select Requirements > 
Multijurisdictional Practice > FAQ. 

STEP 5 – Registration Renewal 

You will receive a fee statement and a registration renewal on an annual basis. 

RLSA Appl Instruc.2016_R 

http://www.calbar.ca.gov/

	INSTRUCTIONS FOR
	REGISTERED LEGAL SERVICES ATTORNEY APPLICATION
	REGISTRATION PROCESS
	STEP 1 – Application Process
	Step 2 – Registration Approved
	Step 3 – Determination of Moral Character Complete
	Step 4 – Initial MCLE Requirement
	STEP 5 – Registration Renewal





