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REFUND OF FEES POLICY 

The following schedule has been adopted for the refund of fees associated with the 
filing of the Registration form, an Application to Take the California Bar Examination, an 
Application to Take the First-Year Law Students' Examination, an Application for 
Determination of Moral Character, or an Application for Extension of Determination of 
Moral Character.  Applicants must be registered prior to submitting any application.  The 
Registration form may be filed simultaneously with the application; however, the 
application and fees will be returned if the registration is not approved within ten days of 
receipt of the application. 

The transfer of fees from one examination to another is prohibited. 

WITHDRAWALS 

In order for a refund to be processed according to the schedule, an express withdrawal 
must be in writing and actually received in the State Bar’s Office of Admissions no later 
than the established deadlines.  STOPPING PAYMENT ON A CHECK, OR 
DISHONORING A CHECK, OR DISPUTING A CREDIT CARD CHARGE, DOES NOT 
CONSTITUTE WITHDRAWING FROM AN EXAMINATION. 

Application to Take the California Bar Examination/First-Year Law Students' 
Examination 

1. Withdrawal of applications and requests for refunds received within 30 days after
the deadline for timely filing, both by first time and repeater applicants, will be
honored with a 60% refund of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject
examination.

2. Withdrawal of applications and requests for refunds received within 45 days after
the deadline for timely filing, by first-time applicants, will be honored with a 30%
refund of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination.  This deadline
also applies to those applicants who have previously taken an examination but
who did not take the most recent examination.  Withdrawal of applications and
requests for refunds received within 35 days after the deadline for timely filing by
applicants seeking to repeat the examination having been unsuccessful on the
examination last administered preceding the examination into which current
admission was sought will be honored with a 30% refund of all fees paid in
conjunction with the subject examination.



 
3. Requests for refunds filed in excess of 45 days after the deadline for timely filing, 

by first-time applicants, and applicants who have previously taken an 
examination but who did not take the most recent examination, will not be 
considered. 

Requests for refunds filed in excess of 35 days after the deadline for timely filing by 
applicants seeking to repeat the examination, having been unsuccessful on the 
examination last administered preceding the examination into which current admission 
was sought, will not be considered. 

Application for Determination of Moral Character 

Withdrawal of Applications for Determination of Moral Character and requests for 
refunds received within 30 days of the online submittal date, for online applications, or 
the received date, for paper form applications, will be honored with a 60% refund of all 
fees paid in conjunction with the Application for Determination of Moral Character. 

REGISTRATION/EXAMINATION INELIGIBILITY 

Applicants for registration found to be ineligible due to a lack of pre-legal education will 
qualify for a 100% refund of all fees paid in conjunction with registration. 

1. In order for an examination ineligibility refund to be processed according to the 
schedule, certified transcripts or certificate(s) of good standing for attorney 
applicants to the Attorneys’ Examination must be received in the State Bar’s 
Office of Admissions no later than the established deadlines, which are published 
as part of the application materials. 

2. Applicants who applied to take the General Bar Examination found to be 
ineligible due to a lack of the requisite legal education will qualify for a 60% 
refund of qualifying fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination. 

3. Attorney applicants who applied to take the Attorneys’ Examination found to be 
ineligible due to a lack of the requisite qualifications will qualify for a 60% refund 
of qualifying fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination. 

Applicants who applied to take to the First-Year Law Students' Examination found to be 
ineligible due to a lack of the requisite legal education will qualify for a 60% refund of 
qualifying fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination. 

DEATH OR PHYSICAL INCAPACITY 

Refunds in the amount of 95% of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject 
examination will be made according to the following schedule for those situations 
wherein any of the following prevents an applicant from taking the First-Year Law 
Students’ Examination or the California Bar Examination.  In the case of physical 
incapacity, the refund will be made only in instances of severe unavoidable and 
incapacitating circumstances.  Documentation relative to death or physical incapacity 
must accompany any request for refund according to the following schedule. 
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http://admissions.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/4/documents/Examinations/2014_Refundform.0514_R.pdf


1. Death, serious or disabling injury of a member of the applicant’s immediate family
that occurred after submittal of an application for the examination but prior to the
administration of the subject examination and which death, illness or injury is
certified on the Committee’s form or verified through the provision of a copy of
the death certificate;

2. Applicant’s serious disabling illness or injury or debilitating condition that
occurred after submittal of an application for the examination but prior to the
administration of the subject examination and which illness or injury or condition
is certified on the Committee’s form under penalty of perjury; and,

3. Calamitous occurrences involving the applicant such as loss of freedom due to
terrorist acts or disorientation due to fire, flood or other severe disaster over
which the applicant had no control and the existence of which had not terminated
30 days or less prior to the administration of the subject examination.

SERVICE IN THE ARMED FORCES 

Refunds in the amount of 95% of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject 
examination will be made according to the following schedule for those situations 
wherein either of the following prevents an applicant from preparing for or taking the 
First-Year Law Students’ Examination or the California Bar Examination.  Refunds will 
be made only upon presentation of appropriate documentation, which must accompany 
any request for a refund according to the following schedule: 
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1. An unanticipated call to active duty in the armed forces; or

2. An unanticipated change in military orders.

APPLICATION ABANDONMENT 

Registrations that are not brought to a complete and approved status within 60 days of 
receipt will be abandoned.  A registration will be deemed approved when the requisite 
fees, signature, properly executed declaration, and all required documentation verifying 
eligibility have been provided. 

First-Year Law Students’ Examination and California Bar Examination applications not 
brought to a complete and filed status by the final filing deadline will be abandoned. 
This includes:  (1) applications not signed, (2) application declarations not received, (3) 
application fees not received or incomplete, (4) applications incomplete, and (5) 
approved registrations not on file.  Applications with fee payments found to be invalid 
after the final filing deadline will be abandoned. 

First-Year Law Students’ Examination and California Bar Examination applications 
without eligibility determinations by the final eligibility deadline will be abandoned. 

Moral character determination applications that are not brought to a complete and filed 
status within 60 days of the online submittal date, for online applications, or the received 
date, for paper form applications, will be abandoned.  This includes the lack of requisite 
fees, signature, or required information/documentation.  Once the moral character 

http://admissions.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/4/documents/Examinations/2014_Refundform.0514_R.pdf


determination application is in filed status, if the applicant receives notice to provide 
information, but does not provide such information within 90 days of the request, the 
application will be abandoned. 

No refund of fees will be paid in the event a registration or application is abandoned.  If 
the registration or application has an outstanding balance at the time of the 
abandonment, the outstanding balance must be paid before any future registration or 
application is processed. 

NET REFUND AMOUNT 

If an applicant qualifies for a refund in accordance with this Refund of Fees Policy for a 
registration or application, but has an outstanding balance due for subject registration or 
application, the net refund amount will be the qualifying refund amount minus the 
corresponding portion of the fees owed. 

If an applicant qualifies for a refund in accordance with this Refund of Fees Policy for a 
registration or application, but has an outstanding balance due for other transactions, 
the net refund amount will be the qualifying refund amount minus the balance due for 
the other transactions. 
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